Kling 4.0: Release Date, Features, and What We Know
Kling 4.0 is Kling's next AI video model, announced at the end of September 2026 with a full release planned for October. The headline upgrades are 30-second generations, 4K output, up to 10 keyframes, and up to 15 mixed references. A faster Flash tier is already live for Kling Ultra yearly subscribers. Here is what is confirmed, what is still missing, and how it compares with Kling 3.0.
30 seconds
maximum clip length, double Kling 3.0
10 keyframes
to shape the shot at several points
15 references
across images, video, and audio
Short answer
A big step for longer, more controlled clips, but not usable outside Kling yet
The announced specs target the two things creators ask for most: longer single takes and more control over what appears in them. Until the October release and a public API, though, the full model is not available on third-party platforms. If you need to produce video today, Kling 3.0 already delivers 15-second clips in up to 4K, and the prompting habits it rewards carry over directly.
Open the Kling 4.0 generator pageKling 4.0 release date
Kling announced Kling 4.0 at the end of September 2026. Its official message was that Kling 4.0 is coming in October, and that Kling 4.0 Flash is live now for Ultra yearly subscribers. No exact October date has been given. Kling described the release as a step up in visual realism, creative control, and narrative completeness.
Launch coverage also tied the release to Kling's business momentum, including a reported $2.8 billion funding round in July 2026 and a possible Hong Kong listing.
Kling 4.0 features and specs
The table below combines Kling's announcement with launch coverage from platforms that have published spec sheets. Where sources leave a field out, we say so.
| Specification | Kling 4.0 | Kling 4.0 Flash |
|---|---|---|
| Duration per generation | 3–30 seconds | 3–20 seconds |
| Resolution | 720P, 1080P, 4K | 720P |
| Dynamic range | SDR; 10-bit HDR at 1080P and 4K listed as coming soon | 8-bit SDR |
| Aspect ratios | 16:9, 9:16, 1:1, and 21:9 | Not specified |
| Keyframes | Up to 10, including first and last frame | Not specified |
| References | Up to 15: 10 images, 5 video clips, 7 saved elements, voice samples | Not specified |
| Audio | Stereo audio, improved lip sync, multiple languages and accents | Not specified |
| Availability | October 2026 | Now, for Kling Ultra yearly subscribers |
30-second generations
The most visible change is length. Kling 3.0 tops out at 15 seconds per generation; Kling 4.0 doubles that to 30. That is enough for a complete beat, such as a character entering, acting, and reacting, without stitching separate clips together. Longer clips also give the model more room to drift, which is why the new control features matter.
Keyframes and references
Up to 10 keyframes let you define how the shot should look at several points, not just the opening and closing frame. References go further: launch coverage lists up to 15 mixed inputs, including up to 10 images, up to 5 video clips, up to 7 saved characters or objects, and voice samples. Video references can be used to borrow pacing and camera movement from existing footage.
Audio, text, and formats
Kling 4.0 generates stereo audio with improved lip sync and supports dialogue across multiple languages, accents, and dialects. Reports also mention better text rendering on signs and packaging, a new 21:9 ultrawide format, and 10-bit HDR at 1080P and 4K listed as coming soon.
What is Kling 4.0 Flash?
Flash is the faster, cheaper tier that shipped first. It generates 3 to 20 second clips at 720P in standard dynamic range and supports both text-to-video and image-to-video. It is meant for high-volume drafting rather than final delivery. Right now it is only available to Kling Ultra yearly subscribers inside Kling's own app.
Kling 4.0 vs Kling 3.0
Kling 3.0 is still a strong model and, unlike Kling 4.0, it is available everywhere today. The practical differences, with Kling 3.0 described as it runs on Froging AI:
| Capability | Kling 4.0 (announced) | Kling 3.0 |
|---|---|---|
| Max clip length | 30 seconds | 15 seconds |
| Top resolution | 4K | 4K |
| Frame control | Up to 10 keyframes | Opening image |
| References | Up to 15 mixed image, video, and audio inputs | Image input |
| Audio | Stereo with improved lip sync | Optional audio |
| Ultrawide 21:9 | Yes | No |
| Where to use it | Kling app now (Flash); wider release in October | Available today, including on Froging AI |
If your clips are 15 seconds or shorter and you work from a single starting image, Kling 3.0 covers most of what you need. Kling 4.0 will matter most for longer single takes, multi-character scenes that need consistency, and work that depends on matching existing footage.
What is still unconfirmed
Exact release day
Kling has only said October 2026.
Pricing
No per-second or credit pricing has been published for the full model.
API access
No public API yet. Third-party platforms, including Froging AI, are waiting for access.
Extension to 2 minutes
Reported as coming soon; not part of the initial release.
HDR
10-bit HDR is listed as coming soon, not available at launch.
Real-world quality
Nobody outside early access has tested the full model yet. Treat demo clips as best cases.
How to prepare for Kling 4.0
- Write prompts as timed beats (start, middle, end). This maps directly onto keyframes.
- Build a small library of reference images for recurring characters and products now.
- Keep one camera behavior per shot. Longer clips make camera drift more visible.
- Tie every sound cue to a visible action, especially for dialogue and lip sync.
- Draft at lower resolution and only move to 4K once the motion works.
You can practice all of this today with Kling 3.0 on the Froging AI Kling 4.0 page, which runs Kling 3.0 until Kling 4.0 becomes available.
Kling 4.0 FAQ
When is the Kling 4.0 release date?
Kling announced Kling 4.0 at the end of September 2026 and said the full model is coming in October 2026. No exact day has been published. Kling 4.0 Flash opened first for Kling Ultra yearly subscribers.
How long can Kling 4.0 videos be?
Up to 30 seconds per generation for the full model, according to launch coverage, and 3 to 20 seconds for Kling 4.0 Flash. That is double the 15-second limit of Kling 3.0. A longer extension feature has been reported as coming later.
Does Kling 4.0 support 4K?
Yes. The full model is reported to output 720P, 1080P, and 4K, with 10-bit HDR at 1080P and 4K listed as coming soon. The Flash tier is limited to 720P.
What are Kling 4.0 references and keyframes?
Keyframes let you define how the video should look at up to 10 points in the clip. References are inputs the model should follow: launch coverage describes up to 15 in total, combining up to 10 images, 5 video clips, 7 saved characters or objects, and voice samples.
Is Kling 4.0 free?
Kling has not published pricing for the full model. Flash is currently limited to Kling's Ultra yearly subscription. Expect third-party platforms to set their own credit costs once an API is available.
Can I use Kling 4.0 on Froging AI?
Not yet. The Froging AI Kling 4.0 page currently runs Kling 3.0, and we will add Kling 4.0 once it can be integrated and tested. Kling 3.0 already supports text-to-video, image-to-video, up to 15 seconds, and 4K output.
Sources and disclosure
This article is based on Kling's official announcement and on launch coverage from platforms that published Kling 4.0 spec sheets. Froging AI has not tested Kling 4.0 or Kling 4.0 Flash. Specifications may change at release, and we will update this page when the model becomes available. Froging AI offers Kling models and can earn revenue when visitors generate videos with Froging AI credits.
First published and last reviewed: September 29, 2026.